Skip to main content

Wrotham (St George’s) Cricket Club

Wrotham (St. George’s) Cricket Club is one of the oldest cricket clubs in the country.  It was originally known as the Wrotham Cricket Society, becoming Wrotham (St George’s) Cricket Club in 1794.

Wrotham were involved in the first match where a century was scored. Unfortunately it was AGAINST Wrotham. The opponents were the Duke of Dorset’s XI and the centurion was a certain John Minshull.

Eighteenth Century records show that Wrotham played a number of matches, including those with East Malling (1788), Lingfield (1789), Hadlow (1789), Barming (1790), Duke of Dorset’s XI (1791), Penenden Heath (1792-8) and West Malling (1798). At this point Wrotham played at the Napps Ground near Platt and it was here, in 1815 the only First Class match (to date) was played in Wrotham, when Kent played England. In the early 20th Century, Wrotham played at the ‘Oval’ at Great Comp. The Current recreation ground in Wrotham village was gifted to the people of Wrotham in 1881. When the A20 was constructed in 1926/7 the northern part of the ground was made subject of a compulsory purchase order, as was a neighbouring meadow. Subsequently the majority of the meadow was sold to Wrotham Urban District Council for £5 and the Parish Council currently owns the Freehold to the Cricket Ground.  A Cricket Pavilion was built after the Second World War in memory of the parishioners that perished; this was demolished earlier this decade and replaced by the current building in 2013.

Recent successes include winning Division One of the Courier League for three successive years in the mid 1980s and Darl Clemett made an individual score of 170 in 1995.

Chair – Geoff Witts
Vice Chairs – Nigel Malyan & Neil Harvey
Treasurer & Secretary – Lynne Harvey
Fixture Secretary – Geoff Witts
Captain – Sam Patterson
Vice Captains – Neil Pickford & Joe Dallison
Ground Keeper – Simon Rogers
Scorer – John Gillespie
Umpires – Alec Broad & Ken Baines

Fixtures are as follows: All Sundays at 14.00 unless otherwise stated.

May 5thChevening AmblersHome 2pm
May 12thKemsingTBC
May 19thKent RamblasHome 2pm
May 26thSnodlandHome 2pm
June 2ndBlue StarHome 2pm
June 9thMeophamAway 2pm
June 16thLocksbottomHome 2pm
June 23rdBrasted & SundridgeHome 2pm
June 30thClub DayHome
July 7thWateringburyHome 2pm
July 14thCrusadersHome 2pm
July 21stTBAAway 2pm
July 28thSidcupHome 2pm
August 4thChelsfieldAway 2pm
August 11thSnodlandAway 2pm
August 18thKent RamblasAway 2pm
August 25hAshHome 1.30pm
September 1stTBAHome
September 8thLordswoodHome 1pm
September 15thOD CuacoHome 1pm
September 22ndChevening AmblersAway 1pm

Spectators are more than welcome; please come along and support your local, friendly, village club.

If you wish to contact the Cricket Club then please use our contact page and the Parish Clerk will put you in touch.